The 600-hour RN experience rule at UNCW
UNCW's BSN-DNP nurse practitioner concentrations admit new BSN graduates, but each must log 600 hours as a working RN before the first clinical course. On the full-time plans, four semesters of coursework come first, which gives a new nurse time to reach the total. Here is the rule, where UNCW's wording varies, and how to plan around it.
Get your placement plan
Tell us your UNCW program and where you live. A placement advisor replies with the preceptor and site options that fit your UNCW course.

The rule in UNCW's words
The Graduate Catalog lists this among the admission requirements for the FNP, AGPCNP and PMHNP concentrations: "600 hours of Registered Nurse work experience prior to beginning any clinical courses in the BSN to DNP program." It is a gate on the clinical courses, not a bar to getting in.
UNCW's DNP FAQ puts it from the applicant's side: "Recent graduate applicants, if accepted, must complete 600 hours of RN work experience prior to starting their clinical rotations in the NP programs." So you can apply soon after finishing a BSN, begin the online didactic courses in the fall, and build your hours while you study.
By simple arithmetic, 600 hours is 50 twelve-hour shifts, or 15 weeks at 40 hours a week. For a new nurse in a full-time job, that is one season of work, not a year.
Who the rule applies to
The rule belongs to the BSN-DNP entry into the three NP concentrations. The other UNCW doctoral routes either admit nurses who already practice at an advanced level or have no clinical courses at all.
| Program | 600 RN hours before clinicals? | First clinical course on the full-time plan |
|---|---|---|
| BSN-DNP FNP | Yes: catalog, admission page and handbook | NSGL 650, semester 5 (spring of year 2) |
| BSN-DNP AGPCNP | Yes: catalog, admission page and handbook | NSGL 660, semester 5 |
| BSN-DNP PMHNP | Yes: catalog and admission page | NSGL 646, semester 5 |
| MSN-DNP PMHNP pathway | Not stated; admits NPs from another specialty | Plan of study not public |
| PMHNP Post-Doctoral Certificate | Not stated; admits DNP-prepared NPs | Plan of study not public |
| DNP Post APRN and Nurse Executive Leadership | Not stated; no clinical courses | Project course NSGL 696, semester 3 |
The course numbers above are the new sequences; students admitted before Fall 2025 may be in the older ones, which the curriculum transition guide sorts out.
Three sources, slightly different wording
UNCW states the rule in three places, and the details shift. The catalog speaks of Registered Nurse work experience before any clinical course. The FAQ ties it to clinical rotations in the NP programs. The DNP Student Handbook for 2025-2026 says new graduates must have 600 hours of RN clinical experience before their first clinical rotation, and prints that sentence in its FNP and AGPCNP sections but not in the PMHNP section.
On timing the three agree: the hours come before your first practicum course. They part ways on what kind of work counts. "Work experience" reads broadly, while "clinical experience" points toward hands-on patient care. PMHNP students should treat the rule as live, since the catalog and the PMHNP admission page both carry it even though the handbook paragraph leaves it out.
UNCW's public pages do not say how the hours are verified or whether roles away from direct care count. Ask your concentration coordinator early, and keep your own record of dates, employer and hours worked.
How the rule fits the plan of study
The DNP admits in the fall only, and the practicum courses start later than many applicants expect. On the full-time FNP, AGPCNP and PMHNP plans, the first practicum lands in semester 5, the spring of year 2. Part-time plans wait longer: the FNP plan places NSGL 650 in semester 8, the PMHNP plan places NSGL 646 in semester 10, and the AGPCNP plan places NSGL 660 in semester 11.
Coursework has to come first anyway. The new first FNP practicum, NSGL 650, lists pathophysiology (NSG 601), advanced health assessment (NSG 602) and advanced pharmacotherapeutics (NSG 603) as prerequisites. A new graduate who starts in August therefore has four semesters, one of them a summer, to reach 600 hours while working. Full-time RN work gets there with room to spare; a per diem or part-time schedule deserves a closer count.
Your exact first clinical term depends on your plan and cohort, and the first clinical semester guide sets it out plan by plan.
A timeline for new graduates
- Get licensed and start working as an RNUNCW needs an unrestricted NC or compact RN license at matriculation (see the license rule), and the 600 hours are hours worked as an RN before your first practicum.
- Apply for the fall cohortFor Fall 2027, applications opened September 1, 2026. The FNP and AGPCNP deadline is February 1, 2027, and the PMHNP deadline is March 1, 2027.
- Keep a running log of hoursSave pay records or ask for an employer letter with dates and hours, since UNCW's public pages do not name the proof it wants.
- Start the preceptor search earlyUNCW's placement process map says to begin 6 to 12 months before the course starts. For a spring practicum in semester 5, that means the spring or summer of year 1, while you are still building hours.
- Arrive at the practicum clearReach 600 hours before the first day of your first clinical course, with your compliance file and placement packet approved as well.
Using your RN job to build your network
Those 600 hours can do double duty. UNCW's DNP FAQ says the relationships students build go a long way toward securing a placement, and it urges students to start connecting with NPs, PAs and physicians in primary care before the program even begins. A hospital or clinic where you already work is a natural place to meet future preceptors.
Two UNCW rules shape how you use those contacts. Family and friends are not acceptable preceptors, and PMHNP students may not do clinicals in the department where they work. A provider you met through work on another service is a different case, and goes through the normal approval like any other preceptor. More on the search itself is on finding your own preceptor.
How we help new nurses stay on schedule
New graduates run two clocks at once: hours on the job and the lead time for a first practicum. We take the second one off your hands. We search North Carolina for a preceptor and site that fit your first UNCW practicum course, whether that is NSGL 650, NSGL 660 or NSGL 646, and time the match to your plan of study so the preceptor is committed for the right semester.
Then we prepare every detail UNCW's Graduate Clinical Coordinator reviews, from the preceptor's dated CV to the agency's county and agreement contact, well ahead of the submission deadline. If a preceptor steps back before your start, we stay on call and find a replacement. Tell us your cohort and expected first practicum through the contact page.
Questions UNCW students ask
Can a new BSN graduate apply to UNCW's DNP program?
Yes. UNCW's DNP FAQ says recent graduate applicants who are accepted must complete 600 hours of RN work experience before starting clinical rotations in the NP programs. You still need the other admission items, including an unrestricted NC or compact RN license, and the hours must be finished before your first practicum course.
Do the 600 RN hours have to be done before I apply to UNCW?
No. The catalog ties the 600 hours to your first clinical course, not to your application. On the full-time plans the first practicum comes in semester 5, which leaves the first year of coursework to build the hours. Confirm your own date with your concentration coordinator, especially on a part-time plan.
Does non-bedside RN work count toward UNCW's 600 hours?
UNCW's public pages do not say. The catalog says Registered Nurse work experience, while the DNP Student Handbook says RN clinical experience, which can be read more narrowly. If your role is in education, case management or another setting away from direct care, ask your concentration coordinator before relying on those hours.
Does the 600-hour rule apply to UNCW's PMHNP concentration?
Yes, for the BSN-DNP PMHNP. The catalog and the PMHNP admission page both require 600 hours of RN work before any clinical course, even though the PMHNP paragraph of the 2025-2026 DNP Student Handbook leaves the sentence out. The MSN-DNP pathway admits nurse practitioners from another specialty and states no such rule.
What if I have not reached 600 hours by my first practicum?
UNCW does not publish a process for this. Because the rule places the hours before any clinical course, expect the practicum to wait until you meet it, which can push your plan of study back. Tell your advisor as early as you can; changing a plan before registration is easier than after.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-24
We check these pages against UNCW's catalog, handbooks and School of Nursing pages. Your course, your cohort's handbook and UNCW's Graduate Clinical Coordinator have the final word.
UNCW asks you to find your own North Carolina preceptor. Let us run that search.
Tell us your UNCW program, your practicum course and where in North Carolina you can travel. We find preceptors who fit the course and prepare the CV, license and agency details UNCW's Graduate Clinical Coordinator reviews, well before the deadline.
- Preceptors matched to the course: primary care, pediatrics and women's health for
NSGL 650toNSGL 653, adult and older-adult care for AGPCNP, psychiatric care for PMHNP - Preceptor CV with dates and site, license number and agency details ready for your submission
- In Wilmington, the Cape Fear region or wherever in North Carolina your clinicals can happen
Start your placement plan
Your program, city and next practicum term is all we need to begin.